Like it: Pizza Dough recipe

Here is another post a long time in the making.

Last Christmas (or was it the one before that?), I received a Cuisinart food processor. As with most small kitchen appliances, the instruction manual contained a selection of recipes that can be made with said appliance. Actually, this appliance came with a video too, so I also learned how to toss pizza dough. Or rather, learned that I should not try to toss pizza dough because it did not turn out at all like the guy on the video.

The recipe is very simple. Many of the best recipes I have ever tried are. Funny how that works.

We make this pizza every week, so from memory, with a few tweaks for personal taste:

1 1/4c warm water (I microwave the water for about 20 seconds. Should feel barely warm when you stick a finger in)

1 tsp sugar

2 tsp active dry yeast

3 1/3 c flour

1 1/2 tsp kosher salt

Add the sugar and yeast to the warm water and let sit while you measure the other ingredients into the food processor, fitted with a dough hook. You could also put it in a mixer fitted with a dough hook, or just use a bowl and large spoon to mix by hand.

On the dough setting of the processor, mix the flour and salt. Slowly pour in the yeast/sugar/water. When a ball of dough forms, allow the processor to run for thirty seconds to knead the dough. If preparing with a mixer or by hand, the dough should be smooth and spring back when you gently push in 1/2 inch with your finger.

Run a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil around a bowl (1-2 tsp) and tun dough ball in it to coat. Rub the oil that gets on your hands into your cuticles and knuckles. Not part of the pizza recipe, but a very important step for Mommies that spend a lot of time washing their hands. Set the dough aside to rise 45 minutes. I use the inside of my oven that I heated at 350 degrees for 1 min.

When the dough is doubled, punch down, divide into two balls, and let rest 10 minutes. The resting is necessary in order to relax the dough so it can be stretched/rolled out more easily. I use a square of parchment paper the size of my pizza peel to prepare the pizza on, and then slide it onto a preheated pizza stone, but you can use a pizza pan. I stretch the dough to a large circle with my hands, then place on the parchment square and spread the dough out with my hands while I turn the paper on the counter, almost like molding clay on a potters wheel. Be gentle, this takes practice. A hole is no good and annoying to fix.

Top with sauce (lazily, I have been using the jarred stuff lately), cheese, toppings of your choice. Slide onto preheated pizza stone, or place pan in preheated 450 degree oven for 10  minutes, until cheese is bubbly and starting to get brown speckles. I like to brush the baked crust with melted butter, but maybe that’s just me. I also like to dip my leftover crusts in melted butter, so I melt a little extra while I am at it.

Have I mentioned my favorite saying is “Never trust a skinny cook”?

Leave a Reply

