Like it: Homemade Crunchy Granola

I found this recipe in last December’s issue of Family Fun, tore it out and stuck it in my binder to try someday. Last week, I cleaned out my binder and swore to try the remaining recipes ASAP. Tonight, after realizing I forgot to buy cereal, I made granola.

It is really easy, and a good recipe to make with small kiddos, as there are no raw eggs involved. I had everything for this in my pantry and fridge, but if you are not used to some of the “health food” recipes, you may have to run to the grocery or natural foods store for wheat germ or sesame seeds (I buy them in the bulk foods area of my nearest Sprouts because it is cheaper and easier to find than at my HEB grocery store). I have tried making granola before, but I liked this recipe because it does not contain as much brown sugar or honey, so it is not as sweet. Granola is tasty with milk in a bowl as cereal, or sprinkled on yogurt. Plus, it’s handy to have a recipe like this on hand, should you forget to buy cereal one week. Ahem.

Crunchy Granola

4 cups rolled oats (used quick oats, it’s what I had on hand)

1 cup wheat germ

1 cup chopped walnuts or slivered almonds (used walnuts)

1/2 sesame seeds

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1/3 cup vegetable oil (used canola)

1/3 cup honey

1/3 cup water

1 (6 oz) package of dried fruit such as sweetened cranberries, raisins, cherries, pineapple or papaya (used 1 cup dried cranberries)

Heat oven to 300 degrees.

In large bowl (used my mixer on low) mix together all the dry ingredient, except the dried fruit (you do not want to bake the fruit)

Make a “well” in the middle, pour in the wet ingredient and stir until well coated.

Spread evenly on a cookie sheet (rimmed preferred) and bake for 40 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.

Let cool, stir in dried fruit, and store in air-tight container (used a freezer bag). Makes about 7 cups.

 

Leave a Reply

