Like it: Using a KitchenAid Mixer Attachment to Slice Cheese

Slicing cheese with a KitchenAid slicer attachment

I use my KitchenAid mixer for more than mixing. It fills in for a food processor, especially since I have an attachment that slices and shreds, shown here at Amazon. The instruction book only talks about using the shredding attachment for cheese, but I needed a block of cheese sliced, like at the deli. When we have “lunchables” for lunch, I spend half the time slicing cheese from the block, trying to get it thin. So today, I gave the KitchenAid slicer attachment a shot at it, and it worked!

First, I put the block of Colby-Jack in the freezer for a couple of hours to firm up. Next, I had to trim it down a bit so that it would fit into the attachment. Then I rolled each side in flour, to help keep the cheese from sticking as the attachment blade turns. I fitted the mixer attachment to the mixer and inserted the thick slicer. The result was thinly sliced colby jack! I did have to stop the mixer to clean out the attachment as the cheese did not readily slide out, like it does when it is shredded. I also sprinkled a little more flour on the slices to keep them from sticking together, the same as I do with shredded cheese, and put it into a plastic baggie. Now I have presliced cheese for crackers or sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

