Trying it now: Breadmaker Brochen (Brotchen)- Liked it!

Today's brochen results, a little flat but still tasty!

My father in law was in town this weekend. As he is retired Air Force, my husband’s family spent time overseas when he and his sisters were youngsters. During his visit, my sister in law started talking about bread rolls they used to buy in Germany called Brochen. They all loved the soft insides and crusty outsides. Being that I love to make breads, I found several recipes online, picked one to print that stated it was a breadmaker recipe here, and made a batch yesterday. The in-laws said they were good, the flavor was close, but the crust was not quite as crunchy as the” real thing”. Well, I did cheat a little. We went to the park so the kids could play for a few hours, so I put the dough rolls in the fridge to do a slow rise, and brushed them with egg whites, slashed the tops, and baked them when we got home. And then, we ate them hot from the oven. Today, I am trying to see if the crust problem will be resolved once I give them a proper rise in a warm oven and let them cool completely before we crack them open. If they still come out softer than desired, they are still delicious and will be eaten, every one 🙂

Brochen (bread machine recipe)

1 cup warm water (about 110 degrees)

1 tsp salt

2 tsp sugar

2 1/2 Tbsp butter, cut into small cubes (used butter yesterday, I am substituting canola oil today)

3 cup bread flour (I am using 3 cups all purpose flour plus 2 Tbsp gluten)

1 package(2 1/4 tsp)  dry actuve yeast

Put ingredients in breadmaker in order listed. Run on dough cycle. Divide into 12 equal size balls, roll into balls or ovals. Place on buttered cookie sheet (or parchment paper) and let rise until doubled, about 20 minutes (I put in a slightly warm oven with the light on).

Brochen dough rolls about to rise in the warm oven

Preheat oven to 375 degrees with a pan of boiling water on the rack below where the brochen will bake; steam is important to the crust! (If your rolls are rising in the oven, obviously remove them while preheating your oven!) Brush the tops with 1 egg white and 1 Tbsp water, beaten until frothy, for a glaze. Slash the tops with a serated knife.

My little helper brushing the tops with frothy egg white and water.

Bake for 30 minutes at 375 degrees with the water pan below, until golden brown on top and hollow sounding when tapped. Let cool completely before cutting open to add buter, jam, cheese, meat or sausage.

I’ll add a picture when they are done. I put them a little too close together, they rose a little too long, my 3 year old helped me to brush them, and then I did a pitiful job “slashing” them, so I am not expecting them to be pretty. So luckily I am not a perfectionist, just looking for a quick and easy way to make sandwich rolls that are tasty and remind my husband of happy, childhood days during his lunch breaks.

Update: They turned out better the first time. They still tasted good, and the crust was a little “crustier”, but I let them rise too long and they sort of flattened out, like hamburger rolls. Still, we ate them with lunch meat and cheese today, and they were yummy! I will definitely be making these again!

 

One thought on “Trying it now: Breadmaker Brochen (Brotchen)- Liked it!

  1. Oh yes, my dad would get up at 5 am to go to the Bakery for Broetchen. MMMM
    Let me know how they taste, I will have to make him some too

Leave a Reply

