Trying it now: Getting to bed earlier

I know, this sounds like a no-brainer. Do you get to bed at a decent hour every night? I don’t. And, with a TV in our bedroom, watching those crime dramas like Criminal Minds keep me up way past inteneded just to see what happens (even though we all know they always get the bad guy in the end…). Plus, add the Kindle there for reading or checking email or Facebook..and a laptop in the room also if I want to actually write something (I do not like having to type anything on touch screens, drives me up the wall). There is tempting electronic media everywhere when I should be settling into bed to go to sleep.

My goal is to get to bed by 9pm and start waking up at 5am so I have time to workout before I have to get the girls up and Ella to school by 7:30am. I can hear my husband laughing now. I have an alarm set on my phone at 5:30am already, but I sleep right through it. It gets him up though, so he showers and wakes me up at 6am. Can you tell I am not a morning person, up at the crack of dawn on my own? Plus, not getting enough sleep stresses the body, causes acne and weight gain, makes me cranky and givees me headaches, real downers to my three kids who need a happy, energetic mommy. I need more sleep!

So, how can I accomplish this? You cannot hope to obtain a goal without a game plan! First, I’m going to get to bed by 9pm everynight for a week, then I am going to start getting up at 5am to workout, one step at a time…

Last night after putting the girls down for the night, I took a walked one lap around the neighborhood (it’s a small neighborhood, it takes 15 minutes tops) and crocheted while I watched TV until 9pm. Then I got ready for bed, went to bed and ended up checking the Kindle for a few minutes before I finally got to work going to sleep. My husband was watching TV in bed, so it was a little distracting, but I am going to try going to sleep at 9pm without kicking the TV out of the room. I actually heard my 5:30am alarm go off this morning, and realized I felt rested when I woke up! I have had three kids in five years, so I am used to feeling tired when I wake up. When you are not used to the feeling of being “recharged”, you can recognize it immediately! So, it is encouraging that with steady earlier bedtimes it will be easier to wake up and work out earlier too.

I will come back and update after a week of trying to get to bed at 9pm. Keep your fingers crossed for me! And, if you have successfully added more sleep into your routine, please comment and let us know how you did it.

Leave a Reply

