Like it: Homemade Hummus

When I was pregnant with Avery and counting my protein grams, I tried hummus from the store. It was boring. I only like the roasted red pepper kind. Then I started reading Super Baby Food by Ruth Yaron and was inspired to try her recipe for homemade hummus. Much, much better. Substantial chick peas, creamy extra virgin olive oil, nutty tahini, tangy lemon juice and spicy garlic. I love it with whole wheat crackers or plain ol’ pita chips. I use home cooked chickpeas (also called garbanzo beans) instead of canned, but you can use canned, just use a little less of everything else becasue a can does not quite contain 2 cups of chickpeas. Most of these ingredients are probably already in your panty, except the tahini (sesame paste). I found it on the peanut butter aisle of my local HEB, and it is about $5 a jar! But, one jar makes many batches of hummus, and the homemade version is cheaper and better tasting that the stuff in the deli department (in my opinion, of course). This is basically the recipe from Super Baby Food, just a little adjusted for my personal taste:

Hummus

2 cups cooked chickpeas (or one 15 oz can can, just use a smidge less of everything else)

2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

3 Tbsp lemon juice

4 Tbsp tahini

2 cloves minced garlic (I use a garlic press)

Making hummus!

Throw everything in a food processor or blender and mix to a smooth consistency. I have better luck using my little processor that goes with my hand blender (shown in picture) than my blender. If you feel it is too thick, you can either add 1 Tbsp of lemon juice, or it you do not want to add any more “tangy” you can add a little more olive oil to get the consistency you want.

Hummus in my processor, just the way I like it.

You can eat it right away, but I prefer to refrigerate a few hours or overnight to “marry” the flavors. I just put it in a re-usable container, nothing fancy, but if you are going to serve it at a party, you might want to put it in a nice decorative dish surrounded by crisp sliced veggies, crackers or pita chips. Mmmmmmm!

Hummus ready for the fridge, so the flavors can "marry". Like many dips, it's best after a few hours in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

