Liked it: Meatloaf Meatballs (a.k.a. No Touch Meatloaf) Recipe

Meatloaf mix in my mixer, shaping the meat into balls with my meatballer, never having to touch the raw meat!

I hate touching raw meat. It just gives me the heebiejeebies. So, making things like meatloaf, hamburgers and meatballs that require handling the meat to shape it are not high on my list of favorite things to cook. My family loves to eat these things though! So, in addition to my favorite meatloaf recipe, which is actually three different recipes I tweaked together to make one awesome meatloaf mix, I am sharing how I mix and shape it without ever having to touch the cold, sticky, mushy, raw meat. The recipe has a lot of variations built-in, so just use what you have, it still turns out great every time!

First, I put all the meatloaf ingredients into mixer and mix it all up for a few minutes. Meanwhile, I preheat the oven and coat my rimmed cookie sheet with foil (these get juicy while cooking so it must be rimmed or you will have one big mess to clean up in your oven!). When the meat looks evenly mixed, I use my meatballer to shape the meat into neat little balls without ever having to touch the meat! I received this as a Christmas gift, it was from my wish list on Amazon, and you can view the item here. The meatballer is like a pair of salad tongs with ice cream scoops on the ends. The only complaint I have about it is the finger holes are not very ergonomic and should really be coated, like scissors, so the metal does not dig into the fingers so. Of course, if you do not have this cool gadget, you can use a 1/4 measuring cup and a spoon to shape meatballs, or just spoon the meatloaf mix into a muffin tin for meatloaf muffins! This is what I did prior to the meatballer 🙂

Then I bake the meatballs, serve them with ketchup, mashed potatoes (usually instant!) and some kind of veggie like green beans or carrots. It’s a favorite comfort food around our house. In  the picture, I was actually making a double batch to eat half that night and put the rest into the freezer. These freeze really well in just a freezer bag, the meatball or muffin shape, and are quick to thaw and reheat for a quick meal later in the month.

Meatloaf Meatballs

1 lb ground beef (you could sub turkey or do 1/2 beef, 1/2 turkey)

1 egg

1/2 cup seasoned stuffing mix, or plain or seasoned breadcrumbs

1/2 small can or french fried onions, or 1/4- 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh onions

1/4 cup ketchup

1 1/2 tsp worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp garlic powder, or you can use 2 tsp ranch dressing mix

Shape into desired shape, place in baking pan of choice, drizzle with ketchup and bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes for meatballs or muffins (internal temp should be at least 165 degrees and meat no longer pink). If shaped into a loaf, will take 30-45min.

This post was shared at my favorite cooking blog, Tammy’s Recipes, on her Kitchen Tip Tuesday post here. Check it out for lots more great kitchen tips!

2 thoughts on “Liked it: Meatloaf Meatballs (a.k.a. No Touch Meatloaf) Recipe

Leave a Reply

