Liked it: Fruit Fly Trap

A fruit fly trap made from a clean creamer bottle, paper spiral and taped into a funnel and apple cider vinegar.

We buy a LOT of produce each week; well, a lot more than we used to anyway. We have a large Arthur Court basket on our counter that keeps the bananas, apples, pears, tomatoes, avocadoes, lemons, etc. This basket is usually empty by the end of the week, so it is not like we have rotting fruit on our counter, but somehow we end up with fruit flies every once in a while. My husband thinks they follow him back in when he goes out daily to dump our scraps into compost, but from what I read online they come home with me from the grocery store on the bananas. Whichever it is, once I see one or two it is only a day before I see many, many more. I had not seen that many fruit flies since genetics lab in college! So, a quick and immediate solution for capturing the little buggers was needed.
The easiest trap I found to make is a tall bottle or glass with a paper funnel a the top and apple cider vinegar in the bottom. The one pictured is a clean Coffemate creamer bottle with a square piece of paper spiraled into a funnel with a small opening at the point and taped. Just pour about an inch of apple cider vinegar in the bottom and place the funnel on the top to cover the opening, They can find their way in but not back out that tiny opening. Works like a charm at attracting the flies and trapping them. Then at the end of the day, I take it out into the yard and dump it, flies and all, and start a fresh one. The problem is it only traps them if they find their way in, it does not find them or kill them. And after the last time, about two weeks, of having just the trap in my produce bowl (and ALL my produce in the fridge, bananas and tomatoes and all), I still ended up with fruit flies overnight when I put new produce in the bowl this week! So back to the fridge with the produce while I set out another trap.
So the trap works, and it is easy to make, and it does not smell or take up any more counter space than the bowl. The problem is I do not know exactly where the flies came from. Once I figure this out, I am pretty sure I will be done with the fruit flies for good!

Leave a Reply

