Trying it now: Tom’s of Maine deodorant (Updated: Liked it so far…)

Has anyone else tried using just deodorant instead of anti-perspirant? How did you like it?

I have been wanting to try a plain ol’ deodorant for awhile now. CVS had a deal on Tom’s of Maine products this week, so I got two of the deodorants for free using extra bucks. I got lavender and lemongrass scented ones. I like the lemongrass scent better, but lavender is supposed to be soothing and relaxing, so I thought I would try some armpit aromatherapy 🙂

So far, so good. I have sweated about the same as I do wearing anti-perspirant. If course, it’s a humid 70 degrees, not a humid 98 degrees. I might be singing a different tune come June…

There is a slightly tacky feeling to the skin if I touch it, so there is definitely something coating my underarm area. So far, there is no offense odor. I guess as long as the deodorant stays on the skin the odor blocking or absorbing chemicals will do their trick. Obviously if you sweated enough, I would imagine you would sweat the deodorant right off, and would reapply, just like most anti-perspirants.

If the deodorant works well enough, I think I will try Tsh Oxenreider’s recipe for homemade deodorant in the Organized Simplicity book, if I can also come up with another use for the expensive ingredient it calls for, coconut oil, in case it does not work out…

UPDATE: So, after a week of trying Tom’s of Maine deoderant, I’m liking it! Goes on easily and smoothly like anti-perspirent, no white residue, no strong odor. After pulling weeds in the backyard today, even though it was not hot out, I did expect my sweating to cause a little b.o., but nope! Even now, a good 12 hours since I applied the deoderant, I am still odor-less! I will update again once the temperature actually rises into the 90’s around here (May? June?) and share if Tom’s 24 protection advertisement on the product is accurate.

One thought on “Trying it now: Tom’s of Maine deodorant (Updated: Liked it so far…)

  1. Pingback: Trying it now: Homemade Deodorant « Tried it, liked it

Leave a Reply

