Not so much: Natural alternative to shampoo and conditioner

I’ve been reading Organized Simplicity by Tsh Oxenreider on my Kindle, and enjoying it. I flipped ahead to the appendix with the recipes for cleaners and found her recipes for toiletries for oil cleansing, which I started prior to reading the book and like so far, alternative hair cleanser and clarifier, toothpaste and deodorant. I like the book, agree with most of her homemade cleaners, as I make my own myself, and like using the oil cleansing method for my face, so I decided to give the alternative hair cleanser and clarifier a try.
The recipe for hair cleanser is 1 tbsp of baking soda in one cup of water in a squirt bottle. This is applied to wet hair, rubbed into the scalp and then rinsed out. The recipe for hair clarifier is 1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar in 1 cup of water in a squirt bottle applied to the ends of hair, let sit a few minutes, and then rinse. The instructions state the hair will go through an oily period, and if the hair remains to oily after 6 weeks, to use more baking soda. If the hair is too dry and straw like, use less baking soda and try honey instead of the vinegar,.
If you want body, this will work in the same way that a bundle of hay is bulkier than the same amount of bundled sink. My hair felt “dirty” instead of oily, and I have oily hair. The ends of my hair were crispy dry, indeed straw like. My scalp itched. Nope, not for me.
Today, one day later, I tried it again, with half the baking soda in the cleanser and honey instead of vinegar. Same result. I even tried spraying some leave on conditioner in my hair so that I could finish blow drying my hair. It did not work, my scalp itched, so I got back in the shower and reached for my shampoo and conditioner.
I usually buy shampoo and conditioner on sale with coupons so it is either free or less than $1. I am not brand loyal, although I do like some brands better than others. Best case, I would have had a cheaper alternative and one less thing to clip coupons for. Worst case, my hair would have freaked out and I would just go back to my regular hair routine. Well, since the worst case happened, I am back to shampoo and condition and not looking back. It will probably be awhile before I experiment again with homemade hair care.
Of course, any comments are appreciated, especially if you have had success with this or other hair cleansing and conditioning alternatives.

2 thoughts on “Not so much: Natural alternative to shampoo and conditioner

  1. Pingback: Trying it now: Homemade Deodorant « Tried it, liked it

  2. I blog frequently and I truly thank you for your content.
    Your article has really peaked my interest. I am going to
    take a note of your site and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I subscribed to your Feed as well.

Leave a Reply

